ACCOMMODATION:
       Cabins
       Ensuite Sites
       Powered Sites
       Unpowered Sites
       $$Wise sites
       Tent Sites
EAST BEACH TOURIST PARK,
LOW HEAD,TASMANIA

Cnr of Gunn Parade & East Beach Road
Ph+61 (03) 6382 1000; 0455102444

 East Beach Tourist Park TASMANIA

Local Attractions & Trips From East Beach Tourist Park



Low Head Pilot Station Maritime Museum


The museum is located in the historic convict built Pilots’ Row situated at the Low Head Pilot Station. Designed by Irish
 born John Lee Archer who served as Van Diemen’s Land Architect, Pilots’ Row was built in 1835 as a terrace of four-roomed cottages to house the Pilots.

The heritage and rich history of Low Head is celebrated across 12 rooms of the museum.
Opening hours:
10am – 4pm daily except Christmas day. A small entry fee applies.



Low Head Lighthouse


The Lighthouse at Low Head Pilot Station is the third oldest Lightstation in the Commonwealth and second in Tasmania. It was initially established in 1833 before being replaced in 1888. The Lighthouse was designed by Irish born 
John Lee Archer, who served as Van Diemen’s Land Architect.


The restored fog horn at Low Head Lighthouse is one of two operating fog horns remaining in Australia and the only full operational Type ‘G’ system in the world. It is sounded at 12pm every Sunday.




Low Head Penguin Tours


Low Head Penguin Tours offer penguin watching tours at Low Head in northern Tasmania. Operating at the mouth of the Tamar River, the tours offer a fascinating insight into the Little penguins (also known as Fairy penguins) making their nightly journey to their burrows.


The tour is operated along environmentally sensitive lines to ensure the penguins are not disturbed. Learn about the Little penguins and how most retain the same mate for life.
Tours run each night just after sunset. Pick-up from Launceston can be arranged for an additional fee.




Lagoon Bay, Pilots Bay and East Beach





Take a stroll, swim or cast a fishing line off the jetty and enjoy Low Head’s stunning coastal scenery. Boats are welcome at the boat ramp.




Mt George Lookout



Along Mt George Rd, southwest of town, is this panoramic viewpoint, which (hidden amongst modern communications towers) retains the semaphore equipment once used to relay signals via Mt Direction to Launceston. There’s a wheelchair-accessible path from the car park to the lookout.




The Grove - George Town

The Davies family, who purchased 'The Grove' in 1889 report that they were told that the house was built as a home for the military commandant, and completed about 1827. Remembering that it is situated in Cimitiere St., and that Colonel Cimitiere was the military commandant, may give that story some credibility. However, recent research suggests that the house was very likely built by Lieutenant Matthew Curling Friend, ship's captain, who was appointed to the post of Port Officer in 1832. He administered the whole of the river port of the Tamar river, called Port Dalrymple, because in those days of course the ships were much smaller, and used to go right to Launceston. He moved from Launceston to George Town late in 1835 apparently on completion of construction.


The house has had many owners, as people came to the town to do a job, and left again. Matthew Curling Friend owned the house til about 1852 when he retired to England though it was owned briefly by Revd Fereday and his family from 1846-49. Then William Lushington Goodwin (former ships Captain whose ship sunk in the Tamar, after which he started the Cornwall Chronicle, a Launceston newspaper that he used to lambast all and sundry) lived here til his death in 1862 and his wife for about 7 years longer. Dr James Richardson, former surgeon for the Van Diemens Land Company, owned the house for 20 years til 1889 when Joseph Davies (who had come to the area to manage a gold mine at Lefroy, and then the newly opened Beaconsfield gold mine) bought it, apparently in run-down condition. He carried out some restoration including replacing the wooden shingles with iron. The Davies family continued here until 1942 when Joseph's son, Thomas, died and the family departed. In 1968, The Grove was in a terrible condition, and the local council considered restoring it, then considered putting a demolition order on it. After a lot of local concern and agitation, this became a closure order, and many avenues of saving the house were explored. By 1969, when nothing had been achieved, Chlo and Peter Martin decided to look into what would be involved in restoring the house. After extensive investigation they adventurously purchased it and plunged into what was to be two years of constant hard work to bring The Grove back to life as a museum from 1971 to 2007. Through the years, the gardens have gradually been developed around the format that was already there, and our licensed restaurant built in the gardens.





Bass & Flinders Centre  -  George Town



The Bass and Flinders Centre offers a terrific educational look at Australian maritime history, allowing guests to board a replica of the Norfolk, seeing the captain’s and crew’s quarters and even where the crew ate. You can see great historical artifacts, Watch educational movies also get a guided tour from one of our knowledgeable volunteers. Whether you wish to bring the family or the students in your classroom, they are sure to have a great time and learn about Australia’s history in the process.




The Batman Bridge

The Batman Bridge spans the Tamar River at Whirlpool Reach about 38 km downstream from Launceston or 27kms from East Beach Tourist Park at Low Head.The bridge is one of the world’s first cable-stayed truss bridges and is dominated by the 100 metre high steel A-frame tower. The weight of the 206 metre main span over the river is almost entirely carried by the tower. The overall length of the bridge is 432 metres between abutments.


At the picnic ground at Batman Bridge is a directory listing all the attractions in the area.

The Batman Bridge was named after John Batman, one of the founders of Melbourne, who earlier lived in northern Tasmania.




Beaconsfield Mine & Heritage Centre


The Beaconsfield Mine and Heritage Centre is a place where you can lose yourself in history, play with treasures from the past and embark on an historical journey. You'll be entertained by the interactive displays and live a different story around every corner with buttons to push, levers to pull, tunnels to crawl through and animals to search for.
We like to think that our centre is a collection of experiences that allow you to enjoy and appreciate the history of Beaconsfield and
the Tamar Valley.



Platypus House &  Seahorse World , Beauty Point




This is an amazing Tasmanian living world experience not to be missed. Platypus House offers a once in a lifetime opportunity to watch both live Tasmanian platypuses and echidnas in daylight conditions and undercover! MUST VISIT - BEST TOUR, especially on wet days! Photography welcome.




Your 45 minute fully guided tour includes: a "behind the scences" look at the world's first working seahorse farm, feeding of the fish, hands-on opportunities in the touch pool, many other interesting sea creatures in The Southern Ocean Aquarium including seadragons, giant Tasmanian crabs and dozens of other species.  



Bridestowe Lavender Estate

Bridestowe Lavender Estate, at Nabowla, Tasmania is considered one of the State's most spectacular vistas during flowering in December and January.

The 265 acre site is noted for its manicured fields of lavender, beautiful gardens and sophisticated tourist facilities and  attracts visitors throughout the year.


 Stroll through our endless fields, browse for gifts in the Visitor Centre and dine in the Woodcroft Cafe where you can enjoy our unique, lavender inspired cuisine.

Come and learn a little bit more about our very special lavender, hear a wonderful Tasmanian story (over 90 years in the making) and experience the excellence in lavender that only Bridestowe can offer.




Pipers Brook Vineyard

Take in the magnificent ocean views as you enjoy the self drive tour through the vines to arrive at the architecturally acclaimed winery building.  Established in 1974, Pipers Brook Vineyard is the home of Kreglinger Wine Estates - producers of the internationally acclaimed Kreglinger Vintage, Pipers Brook and Ninth Island wines.  Open daily, the cellar door offers tastings and sales as well as a range of gifts and accessories.


Situated next to the cellar door, the Winery Café is an ideal place to relax over one of the estates' fine wines or an espresso.  With a contemporary menu featuring local, seasonal produce the Winery Café also caters for light lunches and morning or afternoon teas.




BARNBOUGLE GOLF



Tasmania is renowned for its untouched wilderness, pristine coastline, cool climate wines and fresh local produce. The rugged north east coast of Australia’s island state is one of the most ideal places in the world for a links golf course. It’s on this coastal strip, where stark beaches fold into undulating farmlands, that Barnbougle Golf Links has been crafted out of an extraordinary landscape.



BRIDPORT


Bridport is a popular beachside holiday destination, famous for its white sandy beaches, coastal parks and bushland reserves, and Barnbougle Dunes – one of the world's best public golf courses and Australia's number one.


Overlooking Anderson Bay, Bridport offers excellent river and sea fishing, bushwalking and beach activities.







FROM MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA TO TASMANIA